Robertson County Farmers Honored At 58th Annual Event

Depot big city dining 511

Robertson County Farmers Honored Thursday

SPRINGFIELD TENNESSEE: (Smokey Barn News) – Thursday night Robertson County Soil Conservation District held their 58th annual awards banquet.

The event was held at the Robertson County Fairgrounds and was well attended.

The awards received were, Conservation Educator Award, Wildlife & Forestry Award, the Young Conservation Farmer Award, the Farmer of the year Award, Mayor’s Outstanding Farm Family Award and the Conservation Service Award.

The band “Strung Together” played great music throughout the evening and 12 year old London Eller of White House opened up the night with a beautiful rendition of God Bless America.


Conservation districts in the United States trace their formation to the 1930s, when national attention was focused on the crisis of the Dust Bowl.  Congress passed Public Law 46 in 1935, declaring soil and water conservation a national policy, and in 1937, President Franklin D. Roosevelt recommended that states allow landowners to form soil and water conservation districts.  Today, there are close to 3000 conservation districts across the country.

The Robertson County Soil Conservation District (RCSCD) is one of 95 districts in Tennessee established under Tennessee State Code – 43-14-218.  Local districts are responsible for conservation programs within their counties. A Board of Supervisors, five local residents who are recommended by a local nominating committee and appointed by the State Soil Conservation Committee, administers each district.

The RCSCD was chartered June 25, 1941 by founding board members Lee T. Dowell, J.M. Gower, Jack K. Wells, William Woodard, and J.L. Head.


The Robertson County Soil Conservation District Board of Supervisors meets EVERY SECOND THURSDAY EVENING at 7:00 pm, at the USDA Service center in Springfield, TN.  Current board members are: Houston Dorris, Jr., Chairman, Cheryl Elliott, Vice Chairperson, Mary Alice Jones, Secretary / Treasurer, Elvis Bellar, Board Member, Phillip Kelley, Board Member 

MORE on the Robertson County Soil Conservation District

Smokey Barn News (Sponsor/Advertisement)

We bring you ALL the News in and surrounding Robertson County, Tennessee.