Open Burning regulations important to protect air quality and prevent wildfires…
Smokey Barn News Thursday March 6, 2014 Robertson County, Tenn.
Robertson county Emergency Management Agency Howard Bradley County Mayor R.L. Douglas Director
Take the test, have you ever burned any of the following?
Nashville, Tenn. – The Department of Environment and Conservation’s Air Pollution Control Division and the Department of Agriculture’s Division of Forestry remind the public that observing state regulations regarding open burning help protect air quality and prevent wildfires.
In Tennessee, it is illegal to burn:
• Plywood, oriented strand board and treated wood, including railroad ties
• Household trash
• Tires and rubber products
• Vinyl siding and shingles
• Asphalt shingles and other asphalt roofing materials and demolition debris
• Building material, construction debris and mobile homes
• Asbestos-containing materials
• Aerosol cans and food cans
• Copper wire and electrical wires
• Plastics and other synthetic materials
• Paper products, cardboard and newspaper
• Leaves, branches and trees not grown on site
The official forest fire season runs from Oct. 15 to May 15 of each year, and state law requires citizens to obtain a burning permit from the Department of Agriculture before conducting any open, outdoor burning during this period.
In addition to state regulations, local governments may have burning ordinances or require their own permits. Check with your city or county government for any local burning requirements. .
IF YOUR FIRE IS PUTTING OUT BLACK SMOKE INTO THE AIR, YOU HAVE AN ILLEGAL BURN PILE. YOU CAN NOT OBTAIN A BURN PERMIT FROM ANY AGENCY TO PUT BLACK SMOKE IN THE AIR ANY TIME OF THE YEAR.
THE STATE OF TENNESSEE MAY FINE VIOLATORS OF TENNESSEE’S AIR QUALITY REGULATION UP TO $25,000.00 PER DAY FOR ILLEGAL BURNING.
BURN PERMITS REQUIRED THROUGH MAY 15
-TDA’ s Division of Forestry requires burn permits through May 15-
The Division of Forestry is reminding Robertson County residents that if they intend to do any outdoor burning, they are required by state law to obtain a free burning permit. The permits are required through May 15.
To obtain a permit call toll free 1-877-350-BURN (2876) between 8:00 am and 4:30 pm Monday through Friday. Permits are also available online for small scale debris burns by visiting BurnSafeTN.org. Online applicants will be asked to submit the same information they would if applying by phone and will receive a printable permit to have on hand while conducting their burn.
Permits generally cover 24 hours. For weekend burning, a permit can be obtained on Fridays by phone. A permit can also be acquired online on Saturdays and Sundays. Permits will be issued if weather conditions are considered safe for debris burning activity. Permit holders should also check for local restrictions as some counties and municipalities have their own regulations.
A total of 1,780 burn permits have been issued for Robertson County since October 15. Of those permits, 311 were issued through BurnSafeTN.org. Landowners are asked to be aware of weather conditions. Don’t burn on windy days. Debris burning should always be done in a safe manner and is the responsibility of the permit recipient. TDF reminds you that “Your Fire is Your Responsibility”.
Tennessee Department of Agriculture Division of Forestry
The Division, which is celebrating their looth anniversary as a state agency this year, works to conserve, protect and enhance forests that cover half the state and provide jobs, timber, clean water, wildlife habitat and recreation.
Smokey Barn News (Sponsor/Advertisement)
We bring you ALL the News in Robertson County, Tennessee.