Jo Byrns Red Devils (10/11) Defeat Nashville Titans For The Super Bowl 

Jo Byrns Red Devils (10/11) Defeat Nashville Titans For The Super Bowl 

Jo Byrns Red Devils (10/11) Defeat Nashville Titans For The Super Bowl 

CEDAR HILL TENNESSEE: (Smokey Barn News) – We have another division Superbowl winner in Robertson County! On December 19th, the Jo Byrns Red Devils (ages 10/11 football team) won their Super Bowl Championship in a spectacular game 36-0 over the Nashville Titans.

The Greenbrier 8/9 Jr Pro Team and the East Robertson Indians 7U team of Robertson County also won the Super Bowl Championship for their division.

Congratulations to all!

Amy Head reporting….

The Red Devils played the Nashville Titans in their 3rd matchup this season. The first quarter was a defensive game with neither team scoring until near the end of the first quarter when the Red Devils rushed for their first touchdown. The second quarter saw 2 more touchdowns for Jo Byrns and at halftime the score was 20-0. The Red Devils never looked back, scoring 16 more points in the 2nd half. It was a team effort to win this game, with the defense keeping the Titans scoreless and the offense spreading the ball around to allow for many opportunities to score. Quarterback Brody Hilliard threw one TD pass to Thomas Head for their only receiving touchdown. Hilliard also had a 2 point conversion. Four rushing touchdowns were scored by the Red Devils, one each for Wesley Frost and Jah’mir Brooks, and 2 for Jermaine Cobbins. Two additional 2 point conversions brought the Red Devils to their final score of 36-0.

The team played a 12 game season, 10 in league and 2 out of league. They went undefeated throughout the season scoring 466 points and only allowing 43. Many of the players on the team have won multiple Super Bowls, some have won 3 and some winning 5 in a row over the past 5 years. Although 12 players will be aging out, the remaining 13 are excited to come back next year and try for a 6th championship.

Head Coach: Jarrod Wilkerson
Assistant Coaches: Jon Jon Wix, Clarence Cobbins, Tremont Moody, Teddy Wayne, William “Butch” Justice, Donald Wayne Hobgood

1 Wyatt Nixon 2 Weston Hobgood
3 Bryant Wilkerson 7 Adam Lankford
9 Lucas Thompson 10 Wesley Frost
13 Jermaine Cobbins 14 Mason Reynolds
16 Caylee Garmon 18 Thomas Head
19 Brody Hilliard 21 Jon Michael Wix
23 Markereion Hyde 24 Adam Rye
28 Hunter Martindale 30 Jah’mir Brooks
32 Drake Brown 33 Sam Tinsley
44 Buddy Pulley 56 Bear Pulley
64 Quade Pettus 65 Dylan Cruz
81 Zander “Budda” Rudd 90 Cayden Escue
99 Easton Henderson

Photos: Submitted